Places, Images, Times & Transformations


Also called the Ōu region. Region encompassing the entire northern end of the island of Honshū and consisting of Aomori, Iwate, Akita, Yamagata, Miyagi, and Fukushima prefectures. The Tōhoku region is largely mountainous, and most towns and cities are concentrated along the Pacific and Sea of Japan coasts and in the center of several basins. The principal city is Sendai. (adapted from Japan: An Illustrated Encyclopedia. Tokyo: Kodansha, 1993)

There is currently no content classified with this term.

Subscribe to RSS - Tōhoku