Places, Images, Times & Transformations

Tokugawa period

(1603-1867). Also called the Tokugawa Shogunate. Last, and longest-lived, of Japan's three warrior governments, the first two being the Kamakura Shogunate (1192-1333) and the Muromachi Shogunate (1338-1573). It was founded in 1603 when Tokugawa Ieyasu took the title of sei'i tai shōgun ("barbarian-subduing generalissimo"). His government, military in origin, carried the appropriately military designation of bakufu, or general headquarters or shogunate. Thereafter the office of shougun, and with it nominal leadership of the shogunate, was invested in 15 successive heads of the Tokugawa family in a progression that came to an end with the resignation of Tokugawa Yoshinobu, the last shougun, in 1867. (adapted from Japan: An Illustrated Encyclopedia. Tokyo: Kodansha, 1993)

There is currently no content classified with this term.

Subscribe to RSS - Tokugawa period