Places, Images, Times & Transformations

Tokyo University

A national, coeducational university with campuses in Bunkyō and Meguro wards, Tokyo. The first university established in Japan, it is one of the country's best-known and most prestigious schools. It was established in 1877 with the unification of Tokyo Kaisei Gakkō and Tokyo Igakko. In 1886 the university was renamed Imperial University. Its name was changed to Tokyo Imperial University with the establishment of Kyoto Imperial University in 1897. In 1947 the name was changed back to the original Tokyo University. The university has maintained a graduate school since 1886 and at present comprises ten faculties: letters, education, law, economics, science, medicine, pharmacology, engineering, agriculture, and a college of general education. (adapted from Japan: An Illustrated Encyclopedia. Tokyo: Kodansha, 1993)

There is currently no content classified with this term.

Subscribe to RSS - Tokyo University